If you use Facebook, and we know a lot of you do, here’s a quick PSA about a change to their Privacy Settings that goes into effect this week. The long-hyped “Instant Personalization” feature will be turned on by the end of this week, and this will share your data with non-Facebook sites and it’s set on “Enabled” by default, so if you don’t know about it you’ll be sharing your data with whomever Mark Zuckerberg wants to get money from this week.
This is easy to turn off. Just go to Account > Privacy Settings > Apps & Websites > Instant Personalization > edit settings and uncheck “Enable”. Once that’s done, you should be good to go. And be sure to let your friends know about this, as if they don’t turn it off they’ll be sharing info about you as well.